Vagabond Globetrotting 3

Vagabond Globetrotting 3

Author: M. L. Endicott

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 9781411604711

Category: Travel

Page: 200

View: 116

The definitive how-to book for world travel, Vagabond Globetrotting was first published in 1984 at the dawn of the information age. A second, updated edition appeared in 1989. Endicott's next book "The Electronic Traveler" introduced readers for the first time to the nascent travel resources available in the then largely unexplored cyberspace. This twentieth anniversary edition of Vagabond Globetrotting has been extensively revised and includes hundreds of essential web sites for travelers as well as indispensable tips, checklists, and resources.

Dwelling Portably 1980-1989

Dwelling Portably 1980-1989

Author: Bert Davis

Publisher: Microcosm Publishing

ISBN: 9781621062462

Category: House & Home

Page: 178

View: 881

Dwelling Portably has been crammed full of information about living without a permanent residence for nearly 30 years! Super helpful and informative tips for biking, tents, showering, cooking, and living. Written by many folks who have lived the lifestyle far outside of cities and bereft of technology. According to many readers, '80-89 was their best material and here it is reprinted again in entirety (sans things that have become obsolete).

SAUDADE

SAUDADE

Author: Diliya Rianni

Publisher:

ISBN: 1916339417

Category: Poetry

Page: 268

View: 220

For fans of Love Her Wild, Milk & Honey and Lullabies, the first collection of poetry and prose by Diliya R. - The Raw Vagabond. SAUDADE is a collection of nostalgic poetry and prose, of Love & Loss written by Diliya R. - a globetrotting poet who set out travelling towards the journey of rediscovery and healing, post divorce and other failed relationships. Also known as @TheRawVagabond on her instagram account, Diliya writes empowering and inspiring content about Life, Love and Relationships. A Portuguese expression that is almost untranslatable, SAUDADE is used especially with reference to songs or love poems, is a feeling of longing, of yearning, or nostalgia that evokes a deep state of melancholy, of those we loved deeply with our heart and soul that no longer stand by our side. SAUDADE also invokes a sense of gratitude of moments that occurred, which we no longer are able to recapture, and come to be remnants that we would forever treasure. Written with raw poignancy, romance, a little flair of sexuality and adventure - SAUDADE captures moments from the darkest of our nights, to the lightest of our days, that are relatable when it comes to Love & Loss. Here lies her heart's work, predominantly written in "a home away from home" in the city of London, the urban jungle of Singapore and other cosy corners around the world. Be ready to revel in your own SAUDADE and empowered by Diliya's journey of finding home - within herself.

The Synonym Finder

The Synonym Finder

Author: J. I. Rodale

Publisher: Rodale Books

ISBN: 9781623367596

Category: Reference

Page: 1368

View: 287

Originally published in 1961 by the founder of Rodale Inc., The Synonym Finder continues to be a practical reference tool for every home and office. This thesaurus contains more than 1 million synonyms, arranged alphabetically, with separate subdivisions for the different parts of speech and meanings of the same word.

This Great Symbol

This Great Symbol

Author: John J. MacAloon

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 9781136746147

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 378

View: 356

This Great Symbol is the definitive study of the origins of the modern Olympic Games and of their founder, Pierre de Coubertin, whose ideological stamp the Olympics still bear. Behind this fascinating blend of biography and history lies an impressive framework of cultural, social, and psychological theories skilfully employed to interpret the creation and symbolism of the modern Olympic Games. Hailed as both a classic in sport history and as a paradigmatic study in the anthropology of the past, This Great Symbol helped launch the new collaboration between historians and cultural anthropologists that continues to mark the human sciences worldwide. For this 25th anniversary edition, Professor MacAloon adds a new preface evaluating subsequent scholarship on Coubertin and the Olympic origins and a highly personal afterword describing the impact of This Great Symbol on his own subsequent career as an Olympic anthropologist and cultural performance theory. This book was published as a special issue of the International Journal of the History of Sport.

Oxford Thesaurus of English

Oxford Thesaurus of English

Author: Maurice Waite

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 9780199560813

Category: Foreign Language Study

Page: 1074

View: 469

"The leading single-volume English thesaurus explores the richness of the English language with hundreds of thousands of synonyms and antonyms, and thousands of example sentences drawn from the Oxford English Corpus; finds the word you need quickly with carefully chosen and arranged synonyms; broadens your vocabulary and finds solutions to word puzzles and crosswords with hundreds of thematic word lists; and helps express yourself more accurately with hundreds of 'Choose the Right Word' boxes exploring the difference between similar words." --Book Jacket.

Orchestral "Pops" Music

Orchestral

Author: Lucy Manning

Publisher: Scarecrow Press

ISBN: 9780810884236

Category: Music

Page: 472

View: 410

In this second edition of Orchestral “Pops” Music: A Handbook, Lucy Manning brings forward to the present her remarkable compendium of information about this form of orchestral music. Since the appearance of the first edition in 2008, this work has proven critical to successful “pops” concert programming. With changes in publishers and agents, the discontinuation of the publication of certain original material or, worst of all, presses going out of business, music directors, orchestra conductors, and professional instrumentalists face formidable challenges in tracking down accurate information about this vast repertoire. This revised handbook alleviates the time-consuming task of researching these changes by offering a list of works for orchestral “pops” concerts that is comprehensive, informative, and current. Manning’s emphasis on clarity and accuracy gives users an indispensable tool for gathering vital information on the style, instrumentation, and availability of the repertoire listed, as well as notes on its performance. The user-friendly appendices include expanded instrumentation choices, easy-to-find durations, and handy title cross-references. In addition to corrections and updates, this new edition of Orchestral “Pops” Music includes at least 1,000 new title listings. Orchestral “Pops” Music: A Handbook is the ideal tool for working conductors and orchestral librarians, as well as music program directors at colleges, conservatories, and orchestras.