Men We Reaped

Men We Reaped

Author: Jesmyn Ward

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN: 9781408830482

Category: African American men

Page: 258

View: 232

'...And then we heard the rain falling, and that was the drops of blood falling; and when we came to get the crops, it was dead men that we reaped.' Harriet TubmanIn five years, Jesmyn Ward lost five men in her life, to drugs, accidents, suicide, and the bad luck that can follow people who live in poverty, particularly black men. Dealing with these losses, one after another, made Jesmyn ask the question: why? And as she began to write about the experience of living through all the dying, she realized the truth--and it took her breath away. Her brother and her friends all died because of who they were and where they were from, because they lived with a history of racism and economic struggle that fostered drug addiction and the dissolution of family and relationships. Jesmyn says the answer was so obvious she felt stupid for not seeing it. But it nagged at her until she knew she had to write about her community, to write their stories and her own. Jesmyn grew up in poverty in rural Mississippi. She writes powerfully about the pressures this brings, on the men who can do no right and the women who stand in for family in a society where the men are often absent. She bravely tells her story, revisiting the agonizing losses of her only brother and her friends. As the sole member of her family to leave home and pursue high education, she writes about this parallel American universe with the objectivity distance provides and the intimacy of utter familiarity.

Die Perlenohrringe meines Vaters

Die Perlenohrringe meines Vaters

Author: Susan Faludi

Publisher: Deutscher Taschenbuch Verlag

ISBN: 9783423434188

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 400

View: 212

Das neue, große Buch der Pulitzer-Preisträgerin Die Nachricht trifft sie aus heiterem Himmel. Ihr Vater, mit dem sie kaum noch Kontakt hatte und der inzwischen wieder in seinem Heimatland Ungarn lebt, hatte eine Geschlechtsumwandlung vornehmen lassen. Welche Verbindung gibt es zwischen diesem neuen Elternteil, der sich nun "vollständig als Frau" identifiziert, und dem wortkargen, explosiven und teilweise gewalttätigen Vater, den sie kannte? Faludi sucht die Lösung dieses Rätsels in den Nischen ihrer Vorort-Kindheit und in den vielen Verkörperungen ihres Vaters: Jude im Budapest des Zweiten Weltkriegs, Abenteurer im Amazonasgebiet, All-American Dad und heute eine Frau, die ihr Judentum wiederentdeckt hat. Faludis Versuch, diese Metamorphose zu verstehen, lässt sie Grenzen überwinden – historische, politische, religiöse, sexuelle –, um sie schließlich zu der Frage unserer Zeit zu bringen: Ist Identität etwas, das wir wählen, oder ist Identität etwas, dem wir nicht entkommen können?

Adaptation in Young Adult Novels

Adaptation in Young Adult Novels

Author: Dana E. Lawrence

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

ISBN: 9781501361784

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 256

View: 708

Adaptation in Young Adult Novels argues that adapting classic and canonical literature and historical places engages young adult readers with their cultural past and encourages them to see how that past can be rewritten. The textual afterlives of classic texts raise questions for new readers: What can be changed? What benefits from change? How can you, too, be agents of change? The contributors to this volume draw on a wide range of contemporary novels – from Rick Riordan's Percy Jackson series and Megan Shepherd's Madman's Daughter trilogy to Jesmyn Ward's Salvage the Bones – adapted from mythology, fairy tales, historical places, and the literary classics of Shakespeare, Charles Dickens, Jane Austen, and F. Scott Fitzgerald, among others. Unpacking the new perspectives and critiques of gender, sexuality, and the cultural values of adolescents inherent to each adaptation, the essays in this volume make the case that literary adaptations are just as valuable as original works and demonstrate how the texts studied empower young readers to become more culturally, historically, and socially aware through the lens of literary diversity.

Why We Write About Ourselves

Why We Write About Ourselves

Author: Meredith Maran

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9780698185326

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 272

View: 421

In the voices of twenty landmark memoirists—including New York Times bestselling authors Cheryl Strayed, Sue Monk Kidd, and Pat Conroy—a definitive text on the craft of autobiographical writing, indispensable for amateur and professional writers alike. For readers of Mary Karr’s The Art of Memoir and Judith Barrington’s Writing the Memoir, this follow-up to editor Meredith Maran’s acclaimed writers’ handbook, Why We Write, offers inspiration, encouragement, and pithy, practical advice for bloggers, journal-keepers, aspiring essayists, and memoirists. Curated and edited by Maran, herself an acclaimed author and book critic, these memoirists share the lessons they’ve learned through years of honing their craft. They reveal what drives them to tell their personal stories and examine the nuts and bolts of how they do it. Speaking frankly about issues ranging from turning oneself into an authentic, compelling character to exposing hard truths, these outstanding authors disclose what keeps them going, what gets in their way, and what they love most—and least—about writing about themselves. “It's possible that Why We Write About Ourselves is the first compilation of memoirists at the top of their game seriously and thoughtfully considering the genre.” – LA Times

Navigate Your Stars

Navigate Your Stars

Author: Jesmyn Ward

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781982131340

Category: Self-Help

Page: 64

View: 520

A revelatory, uplifting, and gorgeously illustrated meditation on dedication, hard work, and the power of perseverance from the beloved, New York Times bestselling, and two-time National Book Award–winning Jesmyn Ward. For Tulane University’s 2018 commencement, Jesmyn Ward delivered a stirring speech about the value of hard work and the importance of respect for oneself and others. Speaking about the challenges she and her family overcame, Ward inspired everyone in the audience with her meditation on tenacity in the face of hardship. Ward’s moving words will inspire readers as they prepare for the next chapter in their lives, whether, like Ward, they are the first in their families to graduate from college or are preceded by generations, or whether they are embarking on a different kind of journey later in life. Beautifully illustrated in full color by Gina Triplett, this gorgeous and profound book will charm a generation of students—and their parents. Ward’s inimitable voice shines through as she shares her experience as a Southern black woman and addresses the themes of grit, adversity, and the importance of family bonds. Navigate Your Stars is a perfect gift for anyone in need of inspiration from the author of Salvage the Bones, Men We Reaped, and Sing, Unburied, Sing.

Where the Line Bleeds

Where the Line Bleeds

Author: Jesmyn Ward

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 9781408899830

Category: Fiction

Page: 240

View: 176

The first novel from two-time National Book Award winner Jesmyn Ward, a timeless Southern fable of brotherly love and familial conflict Joshua and Christophe are twins, raised by a blind grandmother and a large extended family in a rural town on Mississippi's Gulf Coast. Over the course of a single, life-changing summer, as they struggle to find work and contend with the reappearance of their parents – Cille, who left town for a better job, and Sandman, a dangerous addict – the brothers are forced into a series of decisions that will ultimately damn or save them. A delicate and closely observed portrait of fraternal love and strife and the bonds that can sustain and torment us, Where the Line Bleeds marks the beginning of Jesmyn Ward's extraordinary career in fiction.

The Fire This Time

The Fire This Time

Author: Jesmyn Ward

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 9781408892596

Category: Political Science

Page: 240

View: 366

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Edited by two-time National Book Award winner and Women's Prize shortlisted-author Jesmyn Ward, a timely and groundbreaking collection of essays and poems about race in America In this bestselling collection of essays and poems, Jesmyn Ward gathers a new generation of writers and thinkers to speak on race. From Claudia Rankine to Rachel Kaadzi Ghansah, Kiese Laymon to Carol Anderson, these voices shine a light on the darkest corners of American history, wrestle with the struggles the country faces today and imagine a better future. Envisioned as a response to The Fire Next Time, James Baldwin's groundbreaking 1963 essay collection, The Fire This Time considers the black experience in modern America. Significant progress has been made in the fifty years since Baldwin's essays were published, but America is a long distance away from a post-racial society – a truth that must be confronted if the country is to continue to work towards change. Baldwin's 'fire next time' is now upon us, and it needs to be talked about. Sage, urgent and impassioned, this is an essential collection edited by one of America's greatest writers.

Sing, Unburied, Sing

Sing, Unburied, Sing

Author: Jesmyn Ward

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781501126062

Category: Fiction

Page: 289

View: 884

"A searing and profound Southern odyssey through Mississippi's past and present"--