I Don't Know What I Want, But I Know It's Not This

I Don't Know What I Want, But I Know It's Not This

Author: Julie Jansen

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9780698409019

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 320

View: 471

The quintessential guide to kick-starting your career, fully revised and updated for the ever-changing modern job market Despite a recovering economy, many Americans are still losing their jobs, while many who do have jobs are overworked, maxed out, and miserable. In this fully revised and updated edition of I Don’t Know What I Want, But I Know It’s Not This, career coach Julie Jansen shows how anyone—whether you’re unhappy with your job, or without one—can implement a real and satisfying transformation. Changing careers, conducting a job search, or starting a business is more complicated than ever before. Jansen has updated her classic guide to address the unique challenges of today’s job market, from the ever-more important world of social media to new ways of funding your own endeavors online. Filled with quizzes, personality assessments, and real-life examples, this guide helps you identify the type of work you’re best suited for and provides the know-how—and the inspiration—for transforming an uncertain time into an opportunity for meaningful change.

Haven't They Grown

Haven't They Grown

Author: Sophie Hannah

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781444776225

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 463

'Sophie Hannah, who can twist a conventional plot until it screams for mercy, puts an existential spin on the domestic-suspense novel' New York Times 'Fiendishly clever' Daily Mail 'Complex and sinister' Observer 'A literary high-wire artist' Sunday Express 'Prepare for sleep deprivation!' Red All Beth has to do is drive her son to his Under-14s away match, watch him play, and bring him home. Just because she knows that her former best friend lives near the football ground, that doesn't mean she has to drive past her house and try to catch a glimpse of her. Why would Beth do that, and risk dredging up painful memories? She hasn't seen Flora Braid for twelve years. But she can't resist. She parks outside Flora's house and watches from across the road as Flora and her children, Thomas and Emily, step out of the car. Except... There's something terribly wrong. Flora looks the same, only older - just as Beth would have expected. It's the children that are the problem. Twelve years ago, Thomas and Emily Braid were five and three years old. Today, they look precisely as they did then. They are still five and three. They are Thomas and Emily without a doubt - Beth hears Flora call them by their names - but they haven't changed at all. They are no taller, no older. Why haven't they grown?

A Savage Presence

A Savage Presence

Author: WL Knightly

Publisher: BrixBaxter Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 992

Now that Connor Cohen is dead, Silas Cohen is free to live the life he wants. But there are still two men in the way. When Enzo Juarez tries to make a new deal with Fiona, her good intentions get the best of her and she unexpectedly puts Silas in danger. Can Alex’s connections save them this time? All bets are off when it’s every man for themselves in this series’ finale.

The Faithfuls

The Faithfuls

Author: Cecilia Lyra

Publisher: Bookouture

ISBN: 9781838888756

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 833

Family always comes first. Alma, New York is the perfect town, right down to the coordinated shopfront decorations on Main Street, and Gina Dewar is the perfect wife, mother, daughter-in-law. She understands the responsibility that comes with marrying into America’s golden family, and she tries not to burden her husband Bobby with drama from her own small-town past. But a summer house in the Hamptons doesn’t always buy happiness, and the Dewars aren’t quite as apple pie as they seem. When Bobby is publicly accused of having an affair cracks start to appear in the Dewar clan, and when he denies any knowledge, Gina faces an impossible dilemma. Should she stand by her husband, or listen to her sister-in-law, telling her that there is more to this story? As the town explodes with speculation, Gina tries to keep the gossips out of her marriage. After all, no one knows better than her that secrets should stay in the family. But then she hears the rumor that Bobby’s supposed mistress is pregnant and she is shaken to the core. With the future of her family so uncertain, Gina is about to find out what she’s willing to do to protect those she loves… A moving, emotionally gripping novel about family secrets and the space between loyalty and trust. A stunning new read for fans of Elin Hilderbrand, Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner. Readers love Cecilia Lyra: “ABSOLUTELY UNPUTDOWNABLE. Warm and emotional. I loved it completely from beginning to end… captured my heart from the first page… Brilliant writing, lovable characters, real situations, the book was everything I needed and more.” Book Reviews by Shalini, 5 stars “A simply glorious read!… One of the best books I read this year!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars “Definitely for fans of Elin Hilderbrand. I absolutely loved it and liked that the drama was intense but there was reprieve and easy reading in between. It was well-written and truly the perfect beach read.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars “WOW! What an incredible story that brought out so many emotions.” Heidi Lynn’s Book Reviews, 5 stars “A fantastic read!… I cried at quite a few spots. I didn't want this book to end!!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars “Delightful, bittersweet and beguiling… Had me utterly enchanted. The Sunset Sisters is uplifting and compelling and I highly recommend it.” Brianne’s Book Reviews, 5 stars “Brilliant book. Loved it.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars “The perfect summer story.” Goodreads reviewer “A fantastic, great read. The story is full of emotions. Recommend it.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars “A great book.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars “Read this in one day.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars “A great read… has the full gamut of emotions and it's not to be missed.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars “An emotional, heart-warming summer read that is perfect to lay back and relax with on lazy, summer afternoons… this story pulled at my heart strings and took me on an emotional, heart-warming ride the entire way through.” Goodreads reviewer “Love, lies and betrayal at its best. This is a compulsive read, one I had difficulty putting down.” Goodreads reviewer “The kind of story I love! Family secrets, all those skeletons in the closets makes for a book I couldn’t put down!” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars “Amazing, emotional.” Goodreads reviewer “An emotional, heart-warming summer read… will envelope you and not let you out of its grasp until you have read each and every word of this bittersweet, emotional tale… this story pulled at my heart strings and took me on an emotional, heart-warming ride the entire way through.” Goodreads reviewer

Living with Cancer

Living with Cancer

Author: Ernest H. Rosenbaum

Publisher: Plume Books

ISBN: UCLA:31158010892551

Category: Health & Fitness

Page: 320

View: 314

Selected case histories show ways in which the emotional problems of both curable and terminally-ill cancer patients can be reduced