Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Author: April Genevieve Tucholke

Publisher:

ISBN: 0571307906

Category: Good and evil

Page: 368

View: 225

Faded Gatsby glamour and thrilling gothic horror meet in this gorgeously told, terrifying and dreamy YA romance.'You stop fearing the devil when you're holding his hand...'Nothing much exciting rolls through Violet White's sleepy, seaside town...until River West comes along. River rents the guesthouse behind Violet's crumbling estate, and as eerie, grim things start to happen, Violet begins to wonder about the boy living in her backyard. Is River just a crooked-smiling liar with pretty eyes and a mysterious past? Violet's grandmother always warned her about the Devil, but she never said he could be a dark-haired boy who likes coffee and who kisses you in a cemetery... Violet's already so knee-deep in love, she can't see straight. And that's just how River likes it.Perfect for fans of Veronica Roth and Sarah J Maas.

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Author: Marcus Rediker

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 0521379830

Category: History

Page: 334

View: 639

This brilliant account of the maritime world of the eighteenth-century reconstructs in detail the social and cultural milieu of Anglo-American seafaring and piracy. Copyright © Libri GmbH. All rights reserved.

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Author: April Genevieve Tucholke

Publisher: Faber & Faber

ISBN: 9780571307913

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 368

View: 673

Faded Gatsby glamour and thrilling gothic horror meet in this gorgeously told, terrifying and dreamy YA romance. 'You stop fearing the devil when you're holding his hand...' Nothing much exciting rolls through Violet White's sleepy, seaside town...until River West comes along. River rents the guesthouse behind Violet's crumbling estate, and as eerie, grim things start to happen, Violet begins to wonder about the boy living in her backyard. Is River just a crooked-smiling liar with pretty eyes and a mysterious past? Violet's grandmother always warned her about the Devil, but she never said he could be a dark-haired boy who likes coffee and who kisses you in a cemetery... Violet's already so knee-deep in love, she can't see straight. And that's just how River likes it.

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Author: Charles Edward Eaton

Publisher: Associated University Presses

ISBN: 0845348833

Category: Education

Page: 96

View: 240

In his sixteenth collection of poetry, Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea Charles Edward Eaton employs his talents in a new role -- that of humorist and keen observer of life's predicaments and difficult choices. In the title poem of his first selection, he puts the reader into the mood of compassionate humor with his portrait of Mr. Meek who cuts out paper dolls for feminine companionship. Goliath is present as contrasting oaf, as well as the broken lives in Potted Palm who have ambitions to be royal.

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Author: Keshav Pandya

Publisher: LifeRich Publishing

ISBN: 9781489700322

Category: Fiction

Page: 166

View: 502

The story you are about to envelope is a tale untold, unheard, and unseen. It is a tale set thousands of years ago in the ancient times, a tale of a village, an evil king, a hero, and a deep blue sea. The village of Arutham, cursed by an invasion of the terrible King Asak and trapped by the realms of the deep blue sea, suffers for eighteen years hoping for freedom and fearing the kings wrath. King Asak rules countless villages and acquires wealth, as the devil haunts his villagers suffering from a prophecy that he fears from. The hero, Rozac Lons, an eighteen-year-old orphan living the life of a toymaker, awakens to fight and free his enchained villagers from the devil. The deep blue sea holds the dead bodies of the poor villagers, cursing the people of the village forever. From all of this comes a tale of a mans journey to free his villagers from a curse, a devil, and deep blue sea. It is the journey of unity, toil, dedication, and duty to work fearlessly and fight for truth.

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea?

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea?

Author: Zvi Jonathan Kaplan

Publisher: Society of Biblical Lit

ISBN: 9781930675612

Category: History

Page: 140

View: 186

This book examines the development of Jewish positions on the relationship between church and state in France from the French Revolution until the 1905 law of separation. It is a comprehensive study of the complex interplay among all segments of the Jewish population and the communitys attempt to come to terms with its social and religious status in the nineteenth century. It addresses how French Jews understood the constitutional right of religious freedom in a state that supported Judaism, while, at the same time, in its Concordat with the Catholic Church, officially recognized Catholicism as the religion of the great majority of French citizens. Conversely, it examines how they responded to the attempts by the republican majority during the Third Republic to radically secularize the public sphere and separate church from state. The volume considers the extent to which the positions expressed by the representatives of French Jewry on church-state policies were pragmatic and the extent to which they were ideological and compares Jewish attitudes toward the relationship between church and state with those of other religious groups in France.

Pieter Hugo

Pieter Hugo

Author: Ralf Beil

Publisher: National Geographic Books

ISBN: 9783791383842

Category: Photography

Page: 0

View: 600

A comprehensive survey of the acclaimed photographer Pieter Hugo and his mesmerizing work, this book features images from each of his major series throughout his prolific career. Pieter Hugo’s images are unflinching and unforgettable. Beginning with "Looking Aside," his series of portraits of marginalized people, Hugo has striven to capture the African continent with empathy and impartiality. Whether confronting the aftermath of genocide in Rwanda, documenting electrical waste dumps in Ghana, or photographing in Nigeria’s dynamic film industry, Nollywood, Hugo treats his subjects with reverence and awe. Including examples of his most recent series taken in the U.S. and China, this book offers stunning reproductions of Hugo’s work in color and black-and-white, accompanied by the photographer’s personal commentary. Bringing together more than a decade of work that has elicited fulsome praise, this volume lets readers appreciate Pieter Hugo’s extraordinary oeuvre.

Coinage And History in the North Sea World, C. AD 500-1250

Coinage And History in the North Sea World, C. AD 500-1250

Author: Barrie J. Cook

Publisher: BRILL

ISBN: 9789004147775

Category: Social Science

Page: 809

View: 607

This themed volume contains 28 papers by leading authorities on numismatics and monetary history. It covers a variety of topics concerning the design, use and circulation of coinage in northern Europe in the late fifth to early thirteenth centuries.